EDIT: I’m bumping this back up to the top, as I seem to be getting a lot of hits from a lot of search engines about this problem. You can find information about the virus here

If you get an email from staff@portlandsoxfan.com with a zip file attatched, don’t open it. I have no idea what it is; but I got one as well. Here is the text of the message:

Dear user of Portlandsoxfan.com,

Some of our clients complained about the spam (negative e-mail content) outgoing from your e-mail account. Probably, you have been infected by a proxy-relay trojan server. In order to keep your computer safe, follow the instructions.

For more information see the attached file.

For security reasons attached file is password protected. The password is "01415".

The Portlandsoxfan.com team


It appears that some yahoo with a University of Michegan account with me in their address book was hit with a virus. A clever one, mind you. It takes the domain of the person who it is emailing, and crafts a custom letter. For example, if your email was abc.com, the above letter would have been from staff@abc.com, and would have been signed ‘the abc.com team’.

So you all are fine; nothing was compromised as I initally feared. And Go Buckeyes!

Leave a Reply